+264 (61) 230 263 / 088

The Commonwealth Lawyers Association (CLA) was founded in 1986 focusing on the lawyers practicing in the Commonwealth countries and it has a strong focus on legal education.

The 2019 conference of the Commonwealth Law Association (CLA) took place on 8 April 2019 in Livingstone, Zambia. The theme of the conference was “The Rule of Law in Retreat? Challenges for the Modern Commonwealth” and, under four major streams, presentations focused on Corporate & Commercial law, Constitutional & Human Rights law, Legal & Judicial Profession and Contemporary Legal themes.

At the election of Office Bearers and Council for 2019 – 2020 the nomination of Stacey Bock, Chairperson of the Law Society of Namibia, was uncontested and she was elected as the representative on the CLA Council representing Southern African (Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, St. Helena, Swaziland, Zimbabwe, Zambia).

The CLA’s Council is responsible for the policies of the CLA and comprises up to 29 voting members including a President, 4 Vice Presidents, Honorary Treasurer, Immediate past President and representatives of the Commonwealth member countries.

Council members are subject to election by the general membership every two years during the Commonwealth Law Conference. Council members meet in person once a year in conference years and via teleconference on a regular basis. All members of the Council are volunteers.

Stacey Bock with Brian Speers of the Law Society of Northern Ireland (newly elected President of the CLA) and Santhaan Krishnan (the outgoing President of the CLA).