+264 (61) 230 263 / 088

14th Anniversary of the Judge JP Karuaihe Trust
and 7th Annual Judge JP Karuaihe Trust Fund Legal Excellence Awards
Held on Friday, 15 November 2013
Moringa Room, Kalahari Sands Hotel

Since the awards are centred around the achievements of legal practititioners and law students it was decided to hold the Legal Excellence Award ceremony on the same date and prior to the commencement of the Annual General Meeting of the LSN to create the opportunity for the members of the LSN to be present when future legal practitioners and their peers are awarded for their achievements.  

The Law Society’s involvement with the Judge JP Karuaihe Trust started during 2006 when the trustees of the JPK Trust approached the LSN to assist them in identifying and selecting deserving winners for the ‘legal excellence awards’ thereby acknowledging the dedication, efforts and commitment of legal practitioners who are enhancing and protecting the Rule of Law in Namibia and honouring their social responsibilities.

Best Student Awards 2012:

This year’s winners of the Best Student Awards are:

  • Best JTC Student for 2012: Florian Beukes achieved 77% average respectively in all 11 subjects.
  • Best LLB Final Year Student for 2012: Alexander Gairiseb achieved 72.37% average.

Legal Excellence Awards: 2012 – 2013

The winners of the Legal Excellence Awards for Social Responsibility and Human Rights are:    

  • Legal Excellence Award for Human Rights:  Wilmarie Horn. She wrote a book ‘The Challenge of Child Trafficking’.
  • Legal Excellence Award for Social Responsibility:  The law firm – Ellis Shilengudwa Inc.

Left Top:  Awards winners present at the ceremony
Alexander Gairiseb (Best 2012 Final Year LLB student), Wilmarie Horn (Human Rights), Dee Sauls (at the time President of the LSN accepting on behalf of Florian Beukes – Best 2012 JTC Student), Jurie Badenhorst, Anne Shilengudwa and Ivo dos Santos of the law firm – Ellis Shilengudwa Inc (Social Responsibility)

Left Middle:  JPK Trustees present at the ceremony
Vicky Ya Toivo, Umbi Karuaihe, Ngamane Karuaihe-Upi, Amanda Hauuanga

Left Bottom:  Alexander Gairiseb receiving his Best 2012 Final Year LLB Student award from Amanda Hauuanga and Dee Sauls.

Right Top:  Florian Beukes (Best 2012 JTC Student)

Right Middle:  Wilmarie Horn receiving her Legal Excellence Award for Human Rights from Vicky Ya Toivo and Dee Sauls

Right Bottom:  Anne Shilengudwa receiving the Legal Excellence Award for Social Responsibility on behalf of Ellis Shilengudwa Inc from Ngamane Karuaihe-Upi and Dee Sauls.