+264 (61) 230 263 / 088

15th Anniversary of the Judge JP Karuaihe Trust
and 8th Annual Judge JP Karuaihe Trust Fund Legal Excellence Awards
Held on Friday, 14 November 2013
Hilton Hotel

For the second time, the Judge JP Karuaihe Awards ceremony took place on the same day and prior to the LSN’s AGM.  Since the awards are centred around legal practitioners and law students, it creates an opportunity for the legal practitioners to be present when future legal practitioners and their peers are awarded for their achievements.  


The Law Society’s involvement with the Judge JP Karuaihe Trust started during 2006 when the trustees of the JPK Trust approached the LSN to assist them in identifying and selecting deserving winners for the ‘legal excellence awards’ thereby acknowledging the dedication, efforts and commitment of legal practitioners who are enhancing and protecting the Rule of Law in Namibia and honouring their social responsibilities.

Best Student Awards 2013:

The LSN receives the names of the best students from the Justice Training Centre and University of Namibia.

This year’s winners of the Best Student Awards are:

  • Best JTC Student for 2013: Daneala Beukes achieved 69.36% average in all 11 subjects.
  • Best LLB Final Year Student for 2013: Sune de Klerk achieved 78% average.

Legal Excellence Awards for Social Responsibility and Human Rights:

Many of the members of the LSN contribute to society but they do not always ‘advertise’ their good deeds.

The LSN invited nominations from its members for the abovementioned categories.

The LSN’s committee considered:

  • Applications received
  • LSN members who appeared pro bono
  • Members who presented training and who assisted the presenters with training
  • Members who assisted the LSN with the free legal advice days
  • Members who acted amicus curiae

Thereafter the Committee made recommendations to the Council with regard to the Excellence Awards for Social Responsibility and Human Rights.

The winners of the Legal Excellence Awards for Social Responsibility and Human Rights are:   

  • Legal Excellence Award for Human Rights:  Office of the Ombudsman. Eileen Rako Received the award on behalf of the Office of the Ombudsman.
  • Legal Excellence Award for Social Responsibility:  Legal Assistance Centre. Toni Hancox received the award on behalf the LAC.

The LSN thanks the members of the LSN for their contributions made to society and trust that the good deeds will continue in future.

The LSN also thanks the JPK Trust for joining hands with the LSN to honour achievements and wishes the JPK Trust much success with their future endeavours.  We trust that their commitment to provide bursaries to deserving candidates to study law and honouring achievements will go from strength to strength and that the LSN and the JPK Trust will have a long and fruitful relationship.

JPK-Trust-2014-1 JPK-Trust-2014-2
Vicky Ya Toivo (Trustee JPK Trust)
Daneala Beukes (Best JTC Student 2013)
Alwyn Harmse (LSN President)
 Vicky Ya Toivo (Trustee JPK Trust),
Sune de Klerk (Best Final Year LLB Student 2013)
Alwyn Harmse (LSN President) 
Retha Steinmann (LSN Director)
Umbi Karuaihe-Upi, (JPK Trust)
Vicky Ya Toivo (Deputy Chairperson/Trustee JPK Trust)
Alwyn Harmse (LSN President),
At Slabber (Trustee JPK Trust and representing Dr Weder Kauta Hoveka – JPK Trust)
Corinna van Wyk (Legal Assistance Centre)
Eileen Rakow (Recipient, on behalf of the Office of the Ombudsman, of the Legal Excellence Award for Human Rights)
Toni Hancox (Recipeint, on behalf of the Legal Assistance Centre, of the Legal Excellence Award for Social Responsibility)
John Walters (Ombudsman)