+264 (61) 230 263 / 088

The Law Society of Namibia (LSN) is a self-regulating body created in terms of the Legal Practitioners Act (1995), which serves the profession and the public by promoting justice, protecting the independence of the judiciary and upholding the Rule of Law.

The LSN also plays a pivotal role in protecting monies entrusted to legal practitioners in private practice by members of the public and it further ensures compliance with the rules and regulations regarding trust monies. It further represents the interest of its members who all took an oath to uphold the Namibian Constitution, which protects the Rule of Law and Human Rights and it is further tasked with maintaining and enhancing the standards of conduct and integrity of all members of the legal profession; encouraging and promoting efficiency and responsibility in the legal profession; defining and enforcing correct and uniform practice and maintaining discipline among members of the legal profession.

The Councillors serving until November 2020, having been elected at the 2018 AGM for a two-year term (in alphabetical order) are: Eldorette Harmse, Etuna Josua, Eliaser Nekwaya and Meyer van den Berg. The Councillors elected at the AGM held on 22 November 2019, for a two-year term (in alphabetical order) are: Vanessa Boesak, Gilroy Kasper, Jo-mari Koekemoer, Appolos Shimakeleni.

Meyer van den Berg was elected Chairperson and Vanessa Boesak was elected Vice-Chairperson for the term November 2019 to November 2020.

Back: Eldorette Harmse, Etuna Josua, Gilroy Kasper, Appolos Shimakeleni and Jo-mari Koekemoer.
Front: Retha Steinmann (Director), Meyer van den Berg (Chairperson) and Vanessa Boesak (Vice-Chairperson)
Insert: Eliaser Nekwaya

We congratulate the Council and wish them fruitful deliberations and success with governing and representing the legal profession in Namibia.